Never underestimate the power of eating ice cream out of its container

You know how in the movies, when two characters go through a breakup, the girl is often sitting on her bed, with a box of tissues, multiple used tissues, and a container of ice cream crying to her best friend about her broken relationship while watching a sappy romantic movie? I never wrapped my head around the idea of eating ice cream out of its container– I mean, what if I didn’t finish it? I would have had to place a used container of ice cream back in the freezer and that’s kinda rude. What if someone wanted that ice cr-? Oh I get it now.

That’s actually a pretty good way to let others (I’m talking to you, Dad) know what’s mine. That ice cream.

I’m going on a tangent here. My point is, I never thought that the stereotypical post-breakup meltdown actually existed. Or that it actually helped.

Boy, was I wrong.

Now, I had a real funny way of dealing with my relationship issues. I was very accepting of my breakup. In fact, I didn’t even cry about it days later when I came across some hilarious TIFU reddit posts and I realized I couldn’t screenshot and send it to him because how awkward would that have been.

Me: *sends screenshot* LOL HAHA
Him: … lol
Me: …
Him: …
Me: …
Him: …
Me: brb gonna dig up my own grave of shame

I feel uncomfortable just thinking about it.

But in all honesty, as emotional as I got and as frustrated as I was, I couldn’t bring myself to melodramatically cry about it. I mean, I had to get it out of my system somehow. I was too scared to look back at photos, nor did I want to go over and reread conversations. But I constantly felt this feeling of emptiness surrounding me and I didn’t know how to get rid of it. No matter how much I surrounded myself with friends, watched TV, went out or went through his social media profiles, this void surrounding me continued to haunt me.

So one day I decided to give it a shot. There just so happened to be a container of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked (heaven) in the freezer and with that in one hand and a spoon in the other, I plopped onto my bed, turned on a movie and ate away.

It was very enjoyable. 10/10 would do it again.

And then it hit me. I’m that girl in the movies. Ice cream in one hand, spoon in my mouth, comedy movie playing in an attempt to cheer me up and my phone spammed with replies from my best friends. With all that in mind, I felt it.

I felt my emotions engulfing me.

I take that back. 10/10 probably would not do that again. 

That’s another story in itself.

Damn you, feelings. Damn you.

Never underestimate the power of eating ice cream out of its container

Leave a Reply

