Packing My Life Away (part 2)

Did I ever mention that I hate packing?

T-minus 2 days (more like 1 since today’s practically over) until I’m off to the college world and man, am I excited and scared as hell. Packing is a slow progress:

Clothes ✓
Books ✓
Decor ✓
Desk supplies ✓
Bedding ✓
Miscellaneous other junk ✓ ✓ ✓

I’m slowly starting to see my room empty out. And while I’m not taking EVERYTHING in my room, it’s still pretty empty. My room doesn’t feel like me anymore: a black hole of a closet, photographs all over my wall, lights around my window. The character isn’t there and I can’t wait for the day I can finally walk into my dorm room and say that I’ve settled in and called this space my own. Terrified that it’s going to take a while for that to happen. I really don’t want to be stuck in a mundane room for all of first quarter.

More than packing, though, I hate unpacking, and all I’m really doing now is organizing my life in boxes and suitcases so that unpacking will be a hell of a lot easier. Clothes in a box and suitcase, electronics and decor in another box, large appliances in their respective boxes? Easy peasy, right? Mind you, there’s going to be 2 girl’s worth of boxes and suitcase all crammed in a small room that we have to sort out. And with our parents in the way (well, I have to admit they will be a lot of help) and my slight anxious tendencies when things don’t go my way, settling in isn’t going to be a breeze.

I guess we’ll see on Friday.

Packing My Life Away (part 2)

Leave a Reply

