Thankful

With less than two weeks left until (American) Thanksgiving, you would expect that i’m feeling extremely excited to be home for a couple of days. And in fact, I am. I’m beyond excited to go back home and see my friends and eat home cooked meals and reunite with my bed…

But the more I think about getting closer to Thanksgiving, the more homesick I feel. I’m not only missing the people, but I actually miss my neighborhood, the city, and the atmosphere.

It doesn’t matter that I’m only a 2.5 hour drive south from home, where the weather is practically the same and it basically looks like home outside. It’s not the same.

With all that in mind, I have also come to realize what I’m thankful for. What have I appreciated? WHO am I thankful for? I know I’m a week and a half away from thanksgiving, but I don’t need a specific day to truly express all the things, people, and experiences I’m thankful for.

  1. My family. Having been away from my family for nearly two months now, I’m really missing them– especially my mom, sister and grandma. These three have had my back for so long and to not have them by my side through all my ups and downs really frazzles me sometimes. (Although at least being away from home keeps the nagging at bay)
  2. Home cooked meals. Do I really need to explain how much better my mom’s homemade scrambled eggs are than the ones they serve at the dining hall? Like, no. That is not acceptable and that is why I have lived off of oatmeal for breakfast for the past two months.
  3. My friends. When you’re a couple hundred miles away from your best friends– ones you have known for years and pretty much know you inside out– it’s really scary to feel like you have to start over. Nearly two months in and I still feel anxious about the thought of having to move forward and finding people to fill the void that surrounds me while I’m here. But I love my friends, nonetheless– at college and at home.
  4. Controlled heaters. When you can’t control the temperature of your dorm room, wouldn’t you be grateful for having thermostats in your home? Thermostats that you can control?
  5. Cars. When you have to walk everywhere you go, you appreciate the little things like driving and having a car. Cars are nice because you can go to places without getting soaking wet from the wrath of the pacific northwest rain.
  6. High school. I can’t say I miss high school, nor can I say I don’t miss high school. But I am thankful of the high school I went to because it has shaped me to be the person I am today, providing me with valuable relationships and connections and memories I can talk about for hours to all my friends here. As weird as it may be to admit it, my high school was the bomb.
  7. Lastly, I’m grateful for all the opportunities that have come my way and the ones I will continue to seek. I have honestly taken for granted all of the success I have achieved from the opportunities I have, whether it’s academic or extracurricular, as they have definitely shaped me into who I am today and have brought me to where I am today: sitting in my dorm room on a saturday night blogging away. But in all seriousness, I wouldn’t even be in such an incredible, beautiful and well-established school if it wasn’t for some of the opportunities I have pursued.

And because of that, I am forever thankful.

Thankful

Leave a Reply

